Students, staff recognized at Dec. 12 board meeting
Students, staff recognized at Dec. 12 board meeting
Thursday, December 14, 2017
Read about the students and staff who were recognized at the Dec. 12 Board of Education meeting.

Parkwood Elementary School
1-ChanellB.jpgColoring and essay contest
Parkwood first-grader Chanell Burnett earned first place in the 2017 Christmas in St. Louis Coloring and Essay contest sponsored by the Christmas in St. Louis Foundation in partnership with the St. Louis Public Library. Burnett participated in the coloring contest, which was open to students in kindergarten through second grade. She, as well as three other first-place winners, were invited to an awards ceremony and to be an official junior grand marshal in the Christmas in St. Louis parade on Thanksgiving Day in downtown St. Louis.

Pattonville High School
2-Maya.jpgState music
Pattonville freshman Maya Blumenthal earned honorable mention in the Music Teachers National Association Junior Piano division state competition through the Missouri Music Teachers Association.

State music
Pattonville junior Kesley Kobielusz was selected as a Game Day Guest with the Pride of Oklahoma Marching Band. She was invited to observe the morning rehearsal and then march and sit with the band during the day's football game. Kobielusz was selected based on her resume and two recommendations. She plays clarinet and is a member of the Pride of Pattonville Marching Band.

3-Lorelei.jpgOld Newsboys publication
Pattonville senior Lorelei Ryan had an article published in the Old Newsboys Day charity newspaper. Her article was about TREE House of Greater St. Louis, which offers programs and services in the areas of therapy, recreation, education and exploration for people with disabilities. Ryan is an editor of the Pirate Press newspaper, which is sponsored by teacher Brian Heyman.

100 Neediest Cases art contest
Sophomore Ally Nero and seniors Byron Reyes Garcia and Grace Skelton had artwork chosen among the Top 40 entries in the 100 Neediest Cases art contest sponsored by the St. Louis Post-Dispatch and the United Way. In addition, sophomore Kennedy Carver and juniors DeAndre Malone, Autumn Marshall and Mia Vance had artwork on display at the Missouri History Museum as part of the 100 Neediest Cases program. The Neediest Cases campaign helps thousands of disadvantaged families during the holidays each year, with the Post-Dispatch highlighting 100 to raise awareness and encourage donations for the thousands of needy families.


Young Artists and their Teachers exhibit
Senior Henry Behlmann placed third in the photography category of the Young Artists and Their Teachers exhibit at Lindenwood University. In the drawing category, senior Kaira Hinds placed third and junior Celia Friedrich earned honorable mention. Other students whose art was on display are: senior Sade Boyles, with a studio art piece; senior Colin Heidemann, with a ceramics piece and studio art piece; junior Kevin Mendieta Papalotzi, with a ceramics piece; senior Grace Skelton with a ceramics piece and studio art piece; and seniors Bella Stephens and Allie Wood, with photography. In addition, the following art teachers had artwork on display: Kelli Dornfeld, Scott Fader and Beth Kathriner.


8-ThomasMcFarland-Band.jpgAll-State and Suburban bands
Eleven students earned recognition after auditioning for All-Suburban bands. Senior Samuel Shull earned a spot in the All-State Jazz Band, having been ranked No. 1 in drumming at the All-State auditions. Senior Carter Kennedy and junior Abigail Twyman were selected to the All-Suburban Jazz Band, with senior Makyla Boyd and sophomore Thomas McFarland selected as alternatives. Additionally, seniors Christian Baugher and Emma Stubblefield and junior Savanna Wooten were selected for the All-Suburban Concert Band, with junior Natalie Baugher and seniors Olivia DeGalvez and Joey Noble selected as alternates. The band students are directed by Denny McFarland, Sara Deutschmann and Anna White.

All-Suburban Orchestra
Sophomores Nathan Moser and Natalie Young and juniors Abby Surlet and Jacob Wilfong were selected to the All-Suburban Orchestra. In addition, juniors Hannah Jones and Jarred McCormick were selected as alternates. Michael Dunsmoor directs the orchestra.


All-State and Suburban choirs
Senior Aaron Garner was selected to the All-State Choir, St. Louis Suburban District 11/12 Honors Choir and the Southwest Regional 11/12 Honor Choir. He also qualified for the All-State Sight Reading Bee and was a semi-finalist in the National Association of Teachers of Singing Regional Soloist Competition. In addition, senior Tamia Tyler was selected as first alternate alto for the All-State Choir and was selected to the St. Louis Suburban District 11/12 Honors Choir. The following students qualified to audition for All-State Choir and were also selected to the St. Louis Suburban District 11/12 Honors Choir: Aaron Ford-Givance, Micah Lee, Joshua McNeary, Olivia Pursley, Madelyn Radican, Joshua Royal, Samuel Shull, Travis Tyler and Elleni Yeshiwas, who also qualified to audition for the Missouri All-State Sight Reading Bee. The following students were also selected to the St. Louis Suburban District 11/12 Honors Choir: Journee Bond, Rebecca Combest, Nadia Maddex and Chloe Neal. In addition, the following students were selected to the St. Louis Suburban District 9/10 Honors Choir: Emily Barton, Madison Branson, Sara Brown, Jaelynne Cauldwell, Esha Chopra, Caitlin Coddington, Kristen Jones, Michael Nelson, Michael Pirrie, Andrew Schmitz, Peyton Smith, Mackenzie Voss and Christopher Tobar and Tony Washington, who were both also selected to the Southwest Regional 7/8/9/10 Men's Honor Choir. Finally, Julia Drake was selected to the Southwest Regional 8/9/10 Women's Honor Choir. These students are directed by Melynda Lamb.


ASLA Award
Victoria Carlson-Casaregola, a speech-language pathologist at the high school, received the American Speech-Language Association Award for Continuing Education. The award recognizes professionals who have demonstrated their commitment to lifelong learning by earning seven American Speech-Language-Hearing Association continuing education units within a 36-month period.