PHS robotics team headed for Super Regionals
PHS robotics team headed for Super Regionals
Monday, March 6, 2017
Pattonville High School Robotics Team 2867 qualified for the North Super Regionals robotics competition in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, after taking a first-place Think Award at the Missouri State Championship.

Two robotics teams from Pattonville qualified to compete at state. Team 2867 qualified for state after taking awards at the FIRST Tech Challenge Qualifier competition at Florissant Valley Community College in December. During this contest, Team 2867 was the first-place Winning Alliance Captain and chose Pattonville Robotics Team 7856 to be part of their alliance, so both teams worked together to win the top spot at competition. Team 2867 also won the second-place Control Award, second-place PTC Design Award, third-place Rockwell Collins Innovate Award, second-place Think Award and the first-place Inspire Award during the December contest. Also at Florissant Valley, Team 7856 won the first-place Control Award and second-pick Winning Alliance.

Team 7856 qualified for state after earning a first-place Connect Award at a qualifying competition at the Missouri University of Science and Technology in Rolla, where the team also earned a third-place PTC Design Award. Team 2866 received a third-place Motivate Award at the Rolla competition.

Members of Team 2867 are Mihir Boara, Bridget Farrell, Summer Miller, Yasamann Mostafavi, James McMahon, Nathan Skelton, Cory Williams, Kyle Wright and Josh Zahner.

Members of Team 7856 are Greg Bahr, Staci Barnum, Mike Cobb-Schultz, Simar Gandhi, Koby (Treyvon) Haughton, Erin McMahon, Kyle Murphy, Alexis Noel, Michael Pieper, Scott Rhinesmith, Williams Skaggs and Ben Wingerter.

Members of Team 2866 are Henry Behlmann, Alex Duello, Colin Heidemann, Kyle Hogan, Austin Mansdoerfer, Ian McKeown, Peter Royer, Mitchell Skaggs, Kevin Stewart, Chris Thompson, Colleen Tyarks and Maiya Varner.

The robotics teams are sponsored by Pattonville math and aerospace engineering teacher Sue Mathis and supported by the following volunteer engineering mentors: Brian Bateman, Charlie Hall, Gary Mathis, Carl Miller, Brian Royer, Colin Shipley and Rick Wingerter.